Meet ‘Upcoming’ Artiste who was inspired by Alpha Blondy; SamKcat

Selasi Aklotsoe Mensah with the stage name, SamKcat, was born and bred in Nima to a trader mom and a tailor father. I am 1 out of 3 boys in my family.

S a m K c a t

Growing up, I loved talking, singing, and reading.

One of my fondest memories as a child was my love for Alpha Blondy’s song ‘Coco De Rock’. I had a relative who was called ‘Korkor’ and at the time she had braided locks.

Therefore, any time I saw her that was the song I sang. We lived in the same house at the time so you imagine how often I sung that song.

I was always part of anything that had to do with singing!

In primary Six(6) my class teacher hand picked me to join the school choir even though I was not confident about myself.

Throughout my three(3) years in JHS – Flagstaff House Basic School- I was actively part of the few singers who lead praise and worship.

Similarly, in Senior High School – Kinbu Senior High School – I was part of the Scripture Union(SU) choir and the School Choir.

Proudly, I was part of the first people to form the school choir at Kinbu Senior High/Technical.

Also, it was during my time that Kinbu’s school anthem was composed and I was privileged to be amongst the first people to perform it.

As an entertainer, I have dabbled(actively) in acting, which I enjoyed! At church, Senior High, and with the Dynamic Drama Production (DDP).

My love for entertainment forced me learn how to play the drums. And one of my favourite music is the Reggae Beats.

I think Reggae music wet my interest for politics. Therefore, I got involved in student politics when I entered the Ghana Institute of Journalism (GIJ) and it has been an interesting journey for me. I hope to talk about that some day.

Campaign Manager for an Assimilation project in Political Communication in GIJ.

Moving on, as a person who loved talking, I had found something to make me talk more, that is drumming and singing. Therefore, I sung along when I was playing drums, even though I didn’t master the drumming.

Singing is one thing that makes me happy! And I am into this because I have a deep feeling I was chosen for it. I have tried to deflect the interest but it is one thing that keeps calling.

That is how come I came up with my stage name SamKcat (Selasi Aklotsoe Mensah K Community Action Team).

My songs are designed to send a message and call people to Action. That is what I have decided to commit myself to.

My vision is to see a people who are aware of the latent machinations that are working against them and to see to it that they are prepared to tackle them.

Hence, the name SamKcat.

I am preparing to release my first Mixtape EP in next few months.

You can get more updates from Samkcat on

Facebook: Lucre Selasi Mensah (SamKcat)
Twitter: @MensLucre (SamKcat)
Instagram: SamKcat.

YouTube: S a m K c a t (SamKcat)

SMILE.

19 thoughts on “Meet ‘Upcoming’ Artiste who was inspired by Alpha Blondy; SamKcat

Leave a comment